University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Horst Betz Book Prize Awarded

The department would like to congratulate the 2017 winners of the Horst Betz Book Prize. Congratulations to Chetan Sharma for top grades in Microeconomics and Frederick Luke Gardner for Macroeconomics

The Horst Betz Book Prize for Excellence in Economics (Microeconomics and Macroeconomics) is awarded annually to the graduating honours student with the highest academic standing in ECON 559 & 557.  In a career that spanned more than three decades at the University of Calgary, Horst Betz was one of the founders of the Department of Economics. Dr. Betz’s courses in the history of economic thought and comparative economic systems were rigorous and informative, but most importantly illuminating for understanding the development of economics as a response to the human condition and the choices and implications for organizing economic activity.

Get Connected